A Tribute To My Father

For many of you, the new year brings about an opportunity for a fresh start and great optimism. While I am always excited about new opportunities a new year can bring, each new year, however, also brings me a great deal of sadness. 17 years ago tomorrow, I lost my father, Jeff Stein. My dad was my best friend, mentor, and confidant. His loss has affected my family greatly, and it is still felt today. Since losing him, I have always stove to make him proud of not only my professional accomplishments, but also my character as a person.

I could write a book about all my father taught me in the 13 plus years I was blessed to have him, but perhaps, his greatest lesson was treating people with the same respect that you’d hope they would treat you. My dad simply loved people. He was funny, generous, and kind to anyone he met, and I can honestly say, I never heard a bad word said about my father. Another lesson my father taught me is; with hard work anything can be achieved. Despite being diagnosed with cerebral palsy shortly after birth, neither of my parents ever let me become complacent, and constantly pushed me to achieve and work for the life I want. It is because of their encouragement, that I have the achieved many goals, and continue to look for opportunities to make an impact on those around me.

My father made a profound impact on my life, and the lives of anyone he came in contact with. It is my hope that when my days are accomplished that those who remember me will say that I made a positive  impact on their lives, just as my father had. I wish all of you a very happy, healthy and prosperous new year. Be good to each other!

5 thoughts on “A Tribute To My Father”

  1. Beautifully said Brandon! We still think of and miss your Dad too; and trust me when I say that he would be (and is) very proud of you! He would be (and is) proud of your whole family, and best part he is waiting on you all to tell you so!! Take good care and may 2017 be your best year ever!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Brandon you, as your father, are a one of a kind unique person. Jeff had that intoxicating smile that turned heads when he entered the room. He could easily captivate attention and lead a congregation. You have those same characteristics because of the mark he left on you. He is a piece and a part of all of his children. I know he and your sweet Momma are so proud of each one of you! Thanks for this great tribute, remembering Jeff’s smile makes my heart full.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much Angie, dad was definitely one of a kind. If I can have half the impact on others as he did, I’ll be just fine. We thank of you often. Mom just asked if I had heard from you lately. I hope all is well!

      Like

      1. You are that man Brandon, never give up! We are doing good, thank you. I miss you all and keep you in my heart and prayers. Happy New Year, may it be better than the last.

        Like

Leave a Reply

